tyree daye.jpg
Tyree Daye

August 11, 2019

Tyree Daye is a poet from Youngsville, North Carolina. He is the winner of the 2017 APR/Honickman First Book Prize for his book River Hymns (APR, 2017). Daye is a 2017 Ruth Lilly Finalist and Cave Canem fellow and longtime member of the editorial staff at Raleigh Review. He received his MFA in poetry from North Carolina State University. Daye’s work has been published in Prairie Schooner, New York TimesNashville Review, and others. Daye recently won the Amy Clampitt Residency for 2018 and The Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Award for his poems in the Fall 2015 issue.

James Arthur

August 11, 2019

James Arthur is the author of two books of poetry, The Suicide’s Son (Vehicule Press, forthcoming 2019) and Charms Against Lightning (Copper Canyon Press 2012.) His poems have also appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry, The New Republic, The New York Review of Books, The American Poetry Review, and The London Review of Books. He has received a Hodder Fellowship, a Stegner Fellowship, a Discovery/The Nation Prize, and the Amy Lowell Travelling Poetry Scholarship, as well as a Fulbright Scholarship to the Seamus Heaney Centre in Northern Ireland. He grew up in Toronto and now live in Baltimore, where he teaches in the Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University.

headshot -- James Arthur.jpg
Ross Gay & Geffrey Davis

September 7, 2019

*venue TBD*

Ross Gay is the author of three books of poetry: Against Which; Bringing the Shovel Down; and Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude, winner of the 2015 National Book Critics Circle Award and the 2016 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award. His collection of essays,The Book of Delights, was released by Algonquin Books in 2019. 


Ross is the also the co-author, with Aimee Nezhukumatathil, of the chapbook "Lace and Pyrite: Letters from Two Gardens," in addition to being co-author, with Richard Wehrenberg, Jr., of the chapbook, "River."  He is a founding editor, with Karissa Chen and Patrick Rosal, of the online sports magazine Some Call it Ballin', in addition to being an editor with the chapbook presses Q Avenue and Ledge Mule Press.  Ross is a founding board member of the Bloomington Community Orchard, a non-profit, free-fruit-for-all food justice and joy project. He has received fellowships from Cave Canem, the Bread Loaf Writer's Conference, and the Guggenheim Foundation. Ross teaches at Indiana University.  

Geffrey Davis is the author of Night Angler (BOA Editions), winner of the 2018 James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets, and Revising the Storm ​(BOA Editions), winner of the 2013 A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize. He also coauthored the chapbook Begotten (URB Books, 2016) with LA-based poet F. Douglas Brown.

Named a finalist for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, Davis has received the Anne Halley Poetry Prize, the Dogwood Prize in Poetry, and the Wabash Prize for Poetry, as well as fellowships from Bread LoafCave Canem, the National Endowment for the Artsthe Vermont Studio Center, and the Whiting Foundation. His words have appeared in Crazyhorse​, ​Massachusetts Review, Mississippi Review, New England Review, ​New York Times Magazine, The New Yorker, PBS NewsHour, Ploughshares, Poetry Northwest, and elsewhere.

​A native of the Pacific Northwest, Davis lives with his family in Fayetteville, AR. He teaches at the University of Arkansas and with The Rainier Writing Workshop, Pacific Lutheran's low-residency MFA program. Davis also serves as poetry editor for Iron Horse Literary Review.

Photo of Ross Gay wearing a t-shirt that says "Poetry is not a luxury" -- Audre Lorde
Photo of Geffrey Davis
Open Mouth Poetry Festival

October 12+

Multiple Venues


The Open Mouth Poetry Festival is an annual celebration of poetry from within and beyond the Northwest Arkansas community. This year the festival will take place on October 12, and will feature poets Zaina Alsous, Olatunde Osinaike, Hyejung Kook, and others TBA.

Additionally, we will help celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Ozark Poets & Writers Collective on October 11, which will include poets from the US–China Poetry Dialog, organized by Jonathan Stalling.

This festival and its lineup are still developing. Please check back for more information.

Matty Layne Glasgow

November 10, 2019

Matty Layne Glasgow’s debut collection, deciduous qween (Red Hen Press, June 2019), was selected by Richard Blanco for the Benjamin Saltman Award. His poems appear in the Missouri Review, Crazyhorse, Denver Quarterly, Poetry Daily, Grist, Houston Public Media, and elsewhere. He is a 2019-2021 Vice Presidential Fellow at the University of Utah where he is a PhD candidate in English and the Writers in the Schools Coordinator. Matty hails from Houston and has taught with WITS since 2013.  

Matty_3 copy.jpeg
Corrie Williamson

December 8, 2019

Photo of Corrie Williamson by Crystal Wendlandt.

Corrie Williamson is the author of Sweet Husk, winner of the 2014 Perugia Press Prize and finalist for the 2015 Library of Virginia Poetry Award, and The River Where You Forgot My Name, selected by Allison Joseph for the 2018 Crab Orchard Series in Poetry and due out September of 2019. She completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Virginia, with a BA in Poetry and Anthropology, and her MFA in Poetry from the University of Arkansas, where she was a recipient of the Walton Fellowship, and a Director of the Writers in the Schools Program. She has taught writing at the University of Arkansas, Helena College, and Carroll College. In 2020, she'll be the resident at the PEN Northwest/Margery Davis Boyden Wilderness Writing Residency on the Rogue River in Oregon. Her poems have appeared in journals such as The Missouri Review, AGNI, Poetry Daily, Shenandoah, and many others. She lives in Helena, Montana.